Library of Articles

  • Library: Articles

Folk Icon Joni Mitchell Among 2007 Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductees Print-ready version

CNW Group
November 9, 2006

Attention Entertainment Editors:
Folk Icon Joni Mitchell, Quebec Chanteur Jean-Pierre Ferland and Country Crooner Wilf Carter Among 2007 Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductees

Honoured Songwriters to be Inducted at 4th Annual Gala on January 28, 2007.

TORONTO, Nov. 9 /CNW/ - The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame/Le Pantheon des Auteurs et Compositeurs Canadiens (CSHF/PACC) today announced its 2007 inductees, which include four influential songwriters, 25 timeless songs and two Legacy Award recipients. The 2007 inductees, including celebrated folk icon Joni Mitchell and the illustrious Quebec performer Jean-Pierre Ferland, will be honoured at the CSHF's 4th Annual Gala, presented by TD Canada Trust on Sunday, January 28, 2007 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre's John Bassett Theatre. Hosted by CBC's Andrew Craig and Radio-Canada's Sophie duRocher, the CSHF Gala will feature musical tributes by a stellar line up of performers.

The gala performance will be broadcast nationally on CBC Radio One on Monday, January 29, 2007 at 11am and on CBC Radio Two at 8pm that evening. It will also feature the same week on Espace Musique. A one-hour television special will be broadcast nationally on CBC Television on Monday, March 5, 2007 at 8pm.

Joining legendary inductees Leonard Cohen and Gilles Vigneault, the 2007 CSHF songwriter inductees are: Broadway and film score creator Raymond Egan (The Pioneers), the father of Canadian country music Wilf Carter aka "Montana Slim" (Radio Era), confessional songstress Joni Mitchell and passionate Quebec artist Jean-Pierre Ferland (Modern Era).

The CSHF will bestow the Canadian Music Publishers Association (CMPA) Legacy Award to one of Canada's most prolific vocal artists, Canadian tenor, Henry Burr. The Francophone legacy award, now called The Prix du Patrimoine Frank Davies after the founder of the CSHF/PACC, will be awarded to Canadian folk music impresario, Sam Gesser.

"Like previous honourees, the 2007 inductees have made an invaluable contribution to Canada's cultural legacy through the timeless art of song," said CSHF Chairman Peter Steinmetz. "The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame is proud to honour and acknowledge them and their enduring efforts."

Among the 25 songs being inducted this year are Canadian classics: Spinning Wheel (David Clayton-Thomas); Comme j'ai toujours envie d'aimer (Marc Hamilton); You Were On My Mind (Sylvia Fricker (Tyson)); Un Canadien errant (Antoine Gerin-Lajoie); How About You (Ralph Freed, Burton Lane); Dans nos vieilles maisons (Muriel Millard); and Le Frigidaire (Georges Langford).

"The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala is now a major highlight on Canada's musical calendar," said CSHF Board Member Martin Duchesne. "It is an emotionally-charged, unforgettable evening of music during which members of the industry and music lovers alike can revel in our rich musical heritage."

Jody Scotchmer, CSHF Executive Director added, "We are pleased to once again welcome TD Canada Trust as our presenting sponsor for the CSHF 4th Annual Gala. TD Canada Trust's commitment and support of Canadian songwriting is key to advancing Canadian musical artists and their work. Thanks to their ongoing involvement, we can continue to share the story and legacy of our songwriters with all Canadians, as we've done with other gifted poets and musicians, including Gordon Lightfoot, Felix Leclerc, and Anne Murray, among many others."

The full line-up for the 4th Annual Gala will be announced in the coming weeks. A limited number of tickets, starting at $50.00, will go on sale Thursday, November 9, 2006 at noon on or 416-469-9619.

For further information, bios and photos, please visit

The 2007 CSHF Songwriter and Song Inductees:


Songwriter: Raymond Egan

Ain't We Got Fun - Raymond Egan, Gus Kahn, Richard Whiting
Sleepy Time Gal - Raymond Egan, Richard Whiting, Joseph R. Alden, Ange Lorenzo
Un Canadien errant - Antoine Gerin-Lajoie

RADIO ERA: 1921 to 1955 Anglophone, Francophone 1921 to 1960

Songwriter: Wilf Carter

Dans nos vieilles maisons - Muriel Millard
How About You - Ralph Freed, Burton Lane
My Old Canadian Home - Wilf Carter, John Klenner, Bob Miller
My Swiss Moonlight Lullaby - Wilf Carter
There's a Love Knot in my Lariat - Wilf Carter, Clark Harrington

MODERN ERA: Anglophone 1956 to 1981, Francophone 1961 to 1981

Songwriters: Joni Mitchell, Jean-Pierre Ferland

Big Yellow Taxi - Joni Mitchell
Both Sides Now (aka Clouds) - Joni Mitchell
Comme j'ai toujours envie d'aimer - Marc Hamilton
Des croissants de soleil - Jean Robitaille, Lee Gagnon
Help Me - Joni Mitchell
Je ne suis qu'une chanson - Diane Juster
Je reviens chez nous - Jean-Pierre Ferland
Le Frigidaire - Georges Langford
Le petit roi - Jean-Pierre Ferland, Michel Robidoux
Paquetville - Lise Aubut, Edith Butler
Spinning Wheel - David Clayton-Thomas
T'es mon amour, t'es ma maitresse - Jean-Pierre Ferland, Jean-Pierre Lauzon
Ton visage - Jean-Pierre Ferland, Paul de Margerie
Un peu plus haut un peu plus loin - Jean-Pierre Ferland
Woodstock - Joni Mitchell
You Turn Me On, I'm A Radio - Joni Mitchell
You Were On My Mind - Sylvia Fricker (Tyson)



The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF)/Le Pantheon des Auteurs et Compositeurs Canadiens is a bilingual, apolitical, non-profit organization which is a partnership of the Canadian Music Publishers Association (CMPA) and the Songwriters Association of Canada (S.A.C.) with the assistance of the Societe professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Quebec (SPACQ). The CSHF's generous founding partners are: the CMPA, EMI Music Canada, the Foundation to Assist Canadian Talent on Records (FACTOR), SOCAN, Sony BMG Music Canada, Universal Music Canada, and Warner Music Canada. The CSHF acknowledges the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Music Fund for this project.

For further information: Media Contacts/Gala Media Accreditation: Christine Liber, (416) 651-4722 x 1,; Christine Mulkins, (416) 652-2544,; Alain Labonte, (514) 523-9922,

Copyright protected material on this website is used in accordance with 'Fair Use', for the purpose of study, review or critical analysis, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s). Please read Notice and Procedure for Making Claims of Copyright Infringement.

Added to Library on November 9, 2006. (8029)


Log in to make a comment